mbed and 7 segment led

11 Jun 2010

I am new to mbed and electronics, but if I want to make clock using 4 digit 7 segment led, can I do it with mbed? what should i need beside 4 digit 7 segment led? I hope someone will help me.

sorry if my question is too stupid....

20 Jul 2010

Hi,

For 4 digits you would need (4*7=28) 28 digital IO lines, the mbed has up to 25. To get around this you could use a driver IC (e.g. CMOS 4543) which will increase cost & chip count, or you could multiplex the outputs reducing the IO to around 9 lines.

If the LEDs are small the mbed could prob drive the outputs directly (a bit naughty) or you can use a transistor on each line. Either way you should use a resistor to limit the current to the LEDs or else they will blow!

Hope this gets you started.

20 Jul 2010

You'll need 4 transistors, PNP - BC557 with resistors for driving the transistors.
The 7 segments needs to be common anode before it works.
Then you'll put a ULN2803A in front of the 7 segment, with resistors in front of that.

I'll draw up a schematic when I have the time.

/ Lerche

20 Jul 2010

If you're building a (normal!) clock, the most significant digit will only ever be blank, 1, or  2 (if you want to support 24 hour format time).

With that limitation, you could drive the LEDs directly since you would need fewer outputs -

12 hour only: 1 line to drive the "1" or leave it blank, plus (3*7) for the other three digits. = 22

24 hour format: 3 lines to drive the upper part of a "1", the lower part of a "1" and the remaining segments required to form a "2", plus (3*7) for the other three digits = 24.

Of course, you probably also want some way to set your clock using push buttons, you might want to add an alarm, etc. So in the long run, you would be better off multiplexing the segments and usng external transistors as the other posters have suggested.

21 Jul 2010