Basic LED circuit

08 Apr 2012

I'm new to using microcontrollers (just got LPC11U24), and I just had a (probably very basic) question to ask: I'm not entirely sure what to do with the Vin, Vout and Ground pins. From what I understand, the 3V connection (I have two AA batteries) is connected across the Vout and Ground pins, but I don't understand what the Vin is for!

I just wanted to build a basic circuit of LEDs controlled through the microcontroller - I'm fairly confident with the programming of it, it's just the connections that confuse me. Do I connect the LEDs across different pins, all connected to the Ground?

I realise that this is probably extremely easy, but I'm self-taught and just wanted to confirm the basics of using the microcontroller before risking it. Thanks in advance.

08 Apr 2012

Vout provides 3.3 Volts out whenever mbed is switched on. The mbed can be powered either through its USB cable or via an external supply. The external supply is provided on the Vin pin. It should be between 4.5v and 9 volts. Obviously, the GND pin is the common ground pin. External LEDs need to have the cathode on one of the mbed digital out pins. The LED anode should be connected to Vout with a 220 ohms series resistor. You can then switch on the LED by writing a '0' to the digital out pin.

10 Apr 2012

Thanks a lot, seems as if I had myself completely confused!

Siddharth

13 Apr 2012

I'm new to using microcontrollers LPC1768, I have followed the Win's suggestions but the LED does not works. I have measured the voltage between VOUT and GND and it's correct. I have measured the voltage between VU and GND and it's correct.

1)If I connect a led with the cathode on one of the mbed digital out pins and the anode to Vout: The Led is always turned off.

2)If I connect a led with the cathode on GND pin and anode one of the mbed digital out pins : The Led is always turned on.

But both cases are not what I want : turn on and turn off LED by a program.