SPI interface with PIC18 - Mbed as slave

09 Feb 2011

Hello,

I am new to mbed and I am working on a project which uses a PIC as wireless link (MIWI) control unit and then i want to transfer the data the PIC recieves to an mbed which controls the rest of the system.

I am planning to use the SPI interface for this but I am not having much success. The PIC is the SPI master and the mbed is the slave.

I send a number of bytes from the PIC and have based my code for the mbed on the example in the handbook:

Reply to a SPI master as slave

1. include "mbed.h"

Serial pc(USBTX, USBRX); tx, rx SPISlave device(p5, p6, p7, p8); mosi, miso, sclk, ssel DigitalOut myled(LED1); DigitalOut myled2(LED2); int main() { pc.printf("Hello World!\n"); device.format (8,3); device.frequency(4000000); device.reply(0x05); Prime SPI with first reply while(1) { if(device.receive()) { myled = 1; int v = device.read(); pc.printf("\r Value is: %d \n", v);

device.reply(0x00); Make this the next reply } } }

This work although not always reliably and recieves the first byte. However it does not recieve any of the other bytes I have sent. Is device.recieve return 1 after each byte has been recived or just at the start of a data stream. I have tried adding additional device.read lines in the if statement but that does not work.

If device.recieve does return 1 after each byte is recieved then something is wrong because the code inside the if statement is only run once when i send multiple bytes. Does there need to be a time delay between sending the bytes from the PIC?

Can anyone help me with this problem.

Thanks,

Tom

09 Feb 2011

Don't know the answer, but here's the code properly formatted (hint: use <<code>> and <</code>> tags).

// Reply to a SPI master as slave

#include "mbed.h"

Serial pc(USBTX, USBRX); // tx, rx
SPISlave device(p5, p6, p7, p8); // mosi, miso, sclk, ssel
DigitalOut myled(LED1);
DigitalOut myled2(LED2);
int main()
{
    pc.printf("Hello World!\n");