Official mbed-gui library

26 Dec 2013

I'd like to see an official lightweight GUI library for the online compiler. Preferably driver-independant so users can code their own display drivers. That way, all display projects could use a common API for creating GUIs, instead of having separate libraries and APIs for every display like it's done now. I had hoped to build something like this with my NeatGUI project, but I haven't had the time to finish it. I have some experience with other embedded GUI libraries, and I find the lack of standardization to be very frustrating. Each library has it's own font format, and it's own image format, etc. With an official GUI library, the mbed platform would be much more applicable to development boards with onboard displays, since only a display driver would need to be provided.

Import libraryNeatGUI

A simple yet powerful library for controlling graphical displays. Multiple display controllers are supported using inheritance.

26 Dec 2013

A good idea, some random stuff:

I don't expect this will be done by mbed staff, so it is something for users to do.

Then afaik most of the current LCD libraries use something like this one does: http://mbed.org/users/star297/code/HY-1_8TFT_ST7735/. They already do use a 'standard' GraphicsLCD class, but that is just two files, a first step could be making that into a proper library and ask the owners of those libraries to use that one, so they are forced to be equal to each other (That isn't too much work for the owners). Then you already got all the basic stuff covered (circles, lines, fonts, etc).